Home > News stories > An Exaggerated Story! (Pangolin)

An Exaggerated Story! (Pangolin)

gorgakh              Today, I’m going to write about a rather unusual topic. There are stories going on the web about Alien killed by villagers, Gorkha (grave digger) and “Alien” killed in Pakistan.  And this picture is given along with it. In a single look I recognized it. It’s actually an anteater or Indian pangolin to be exact. Then there are some bloggers, who although are correcting this fact but on the other hand, due to their lack of knowledge and research, making people believe that Pakistanis are too much superstitious or some savages, which is totally unacceptable. That’s why I’m writing this post to tell, what it really is and what really happened.

First of   let me make this clear that it is an Indian Pangolin, which is found in India, Sri Lanka, Nepal and some parts of Pakistan. Now, you might be wondering “why the hell is it so big”. Well, it is not. They are small. Its head-body length is 51–75 cm and tail is 33–47 cm long. The picture is taken in a close up, making it look a lot big than it actually is, some call it “forced perspective“. Don’t believe me! Well, have a look at this.

beofpp-34

As I said earlier some bloggers are correcting this fact but at the same time saying things like pangolin_19678people in Pakistanis are too much superstitious or some savages. Even some newspapers and news sites are misguiding people in their own way but in the end damaging Pakistan’s reputation (that’s why I hate news media especially Pakistani TV news channels). Some are saying people killed it because they thought it was digging up graves and eating corpses.  Here are some misguiding blogs and news sites (A…, B….., C………, D………, E………, F………).

Now here is what actually happened. People in Daska, Punjab, Pakistan killed this animal because it was frequently coming to their town, probably in search of food, (insects, that’s what they eat) and was digging up big underground holes, which caused several walls to collapse. Yes!  It is very wrong, they should have just relocated it. I would like to mention here that people there are quite used to this creature because anteaters are rather common there. Why do I think I’m right and those bloggers and newspapers are wrong? Well, it is because I was told so by a person who lives there and has actually seen the animal. Daska is actually not far from my home town.pangolin1

I would like say to all those bloggers, that before writing their blogs,  they should research about the topic and not just go off and write some crap out of their minds. All, that I have written, is correct according to my knowledge and if I’m wrong, please let me know. I would be more than happy to correct the facts. Thanks!

  1. December 24, 2012 at 9:32 am

    Thanks a lot!

  2. jimmy
    February 4, 2013 at 6:58 pm

    I remember when this story appeared. People saying it was an Alien.. There are too many ignorant people passing comment on the internet!

    • February 4, 2013 at 8:29 pm

      Thanks! your appreciation means a lot to me

  3. April 28, 2015 at 11:16 am

    This animal is common in Kashmir. I’ve personally seen it (dead one though).

  4. hamza
    August 29, 2015 at 8:06 am

    on which date was this this pic captured

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

